the journey begins

May 28, 2008

It all started harmless enough on a spring saturday morning as my 5-year old son and i went to clean the garage.   the neighbors happened to be outside planting gardens, watering flowers, and tending to the outside of their two-level home.

nearly three hours later, we were still working on the garage and the neighbors were still outside working on their home.  my neighbor turned to me and said sarcastically, “ahh, the joys of home ownership.”  i responded by saying, “the more stuff you own, the more your stuff owns you.”  her next sentence struck a chord with my soul.   her reponse was, “that’s why my daughter is a minimalist.  she keeps telling me that i don’t need all this stuff!”

“a minimalist?” i thought.  “how attractive, how freeing – i want that in my life.”

call me uneducated, naive, whatever you want – but i had never heard the term before.  yet, it was the one word that defines my desire.  i went inside to tell my wife about the conversation and her response was the same as mine, “that’s what i want.”

and thus, the journey begins.  the journey of becoming a minimalist.

the blog will serve two purposes.  1. a journal of our personal journey as this family of four (33, 29, 5, 2) becomes minimalists.  and 2. a proof that if this typical family can make it real in their life.

One Response to “the journey begins”

  1. tony Says:

    How exciting for you and your family sharing the same vision. I too have recently become a minimalist. Unfortunately, my exwife did not feel the same. There were other reasons to our divorce, but this was one of them. We have a 5 year old son who I am trying to teach the minimalist lifestyle. A lot of which gets deconstructed by my wife’s cluttered lifestyle. I only hope that my son will choose the lifestyle that fits him when he is older. I look forward to reading more of your journey. Reading yours and other similar ones, is like having a support group to help us navigate in this society of consumerism. I think if we all practice minimalism our economy would not be in the state that’s it’s in.
    Peace.
    Tony


Leave a Reply

